Mason White

Activity: Hosting a visitor typesHosting of external, non-academic visitor


Mason White was a speaker at the Infrastructural Turn Symposium. He is co-founder (with Lola Sheppard) of Lateral Office which has received numerous awards and recognition, including: the 2012 Arctic Inspiration Prize; the 2011 Gold Award, North America from the Holcim Foundation; the 2011 Emerging Voices award from the Architectural League of New York; the 2010 Professional Prix de Rome from the Canada Council for the Arts; and the 2005 Young Architects Prize from the Architectural League of New York. Lateral Office is the recipient of three separate Faculty Design Awards from the ACSA. Prof. White is the 2012-13 Howard Friedman Professor at UC Berkeley; the 2008-09 Arthur W Wheelwright Fellow from Harvard Graduate School of Design; and the 2003-04 Lefevre Emerging Practitioner Fellow at Ohio State University.

Lateral Office has won or been shortlisted for competitions internationally, including: For A Resilient Rockaway (2013), Klaksvik City Centre (2012), Drylands Design (2012), Cleveland Design Competition (2011), WPA 2.0 (2009), Vatnsmyri Masterplan, Reykjavik (2007), Orphan Spaces (2006), Metis Garden (2005), Memphis Riverfront (2003).
Period04 Sep 2017
Visiting fromLateral Office (Canada)University of Toronto (Canada)
Degree of RecognitionInternational