Series Introduction: Centenary Classics

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter


The Centenary Classics contains six titles in this special edition series. The year 2016 marks the beginning of the centenary period of the Irish Free State's establishment. This beautifully produced limited edition series examines the fascinating time of change and evolution in the Ireland of 100 years ago. Each volume is a first-hand account of individuals or events during the 1913-23 revolutionary period. They are each introduced by leading experts and academics in the field - giving a contemporary analysis of the original text - while a general series introduction by Fearghal McGarry sets the scene of the period. The complete series collectively tells the story of the birth of the Irish nation and consist of the following six titles: A Chronicle of Jails - Darrell Figgis; Civil War in Ulster - Joseph Johnston; Free State or Republic? - Padraig de Burca and John F. Boyle; Rising Out - Ernie O'Malley; Victory and Woe - Mossie Harnett and The Victory of Sinn Fein - P. S. O'Hegarty.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationCentenary Classics
EditorsFearghal McGarry
Place of PublicationDublin
PublisherUniversity College Dublin Press
Number of pages9
ISBN (Print)9781910820032
Publication statusPublished - 2015

Publication series

NameCentenary Classics
PublisherUCD Press


Dive into the research topics of 'Series Introduction: Centenary Classics'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this