The implementation of the Protocol is governed by three UK–EU institutions established by the Withdrawal Agreement (WA). The Joint Committee (JC) is to oversee the implementation and application of the WA and the Protocol.Footnote1 The Specialised Committee on the Implementation of the Protocol on Ireland and Northern Ireland (INISC) is to facilitate and administer the Protocol.Footnote2 The Joint Consultative Working Group (JCWG) is for the ‘exchange of information’ and ‘mutual consultation’ between the UK and the EU,Footnote3 which then informs the work of the INISC. The rules of procedure for the JC and all six Specialised Committees are set out in Annex VIII of the WA. Each body comprises, and is co-chaired by, representatives from the EU Commission and the UK government. Aside from governance, they are important mechanisms for formal and informal dialogue between the two sides. This chapter summarizes the constitution, remit and operation of each of them, as set out in the WA and as they operated in practice during the first months of their establishment.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationThe Law and Practice of the Ireland-Northern Ireland Protocol
EditorsChristopher McCrudden
PublisherCambridge University Press
Pages44 - 54
ISBN (Electronic)9781009109840
Publication statusPublished - 20 Jan 2022


Dive into the research topics of 'The Committees of the Protocol'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this